Mr. Pioneer Preview: Andrew Lines

On Friday, the high school PTO will be holding their annual Mr. Pioneer contest in the Lampeter-Strasburg High School Performing Arts Center at 7:30 pm.

Meet the Mr. Pioneer Contestants

Andrew Lines
L-S Thespian Society

Andrew Lines will be representing the L-S Thespian Society in the Mr. Pioneer contest.

Andrew Lines is honored to represent the L-S Thespian Society in this year’s Mr. Pioneer contest. He is a member of five music ensembles, has participated in eight plays and musicals, helps with WLSH, and is a member of the tennis team. The highlight of his senior year has been b working with amazing people in many musical activities. Outside of school, he is active in his youth group and church’s children’s ministry program. He hopes to become Mr. Pioneer so he can represent our school and its commitment to the arts. After graduation, Andrew hopes to pursue a career in radio broadcasting.

2017 Mr. Pioneer Contestants
Back row left to right: Andrew Lines, Jordan Williard, Conner Shelton, Steven Hollern, and Grant Davis.
Front row left to right: Aaron Possler, Nate Ferrari, Jack Drummond, and Will McClintock.

Other contestants for Mr. Pioneer include Grant Davis representing the Interact Club, Jack Drummond representing the National Honor Society, Nate Ferrari representing Student Council, Steven Hollern for Varsity Club, Andrew Lines for the L-S Thespian Society, Will McClintock representing Mr. Adrian Baker’s Homeroom, Aron Possler for the Tri-M Music Honor Society, Conner Shelton representing Madrigals, and Jordan Williard for the Model UN.   

If crowned Mr. Pioneer, the recipient will receive breakfast for their homeroom, plus a portion of their votes will be donated to the club or homeroom he represents. Also up for grabs is the Spirit Award. That person wins donuts for his club or homeroom.

Tickets are $5 and will be sold at the door and at lunch the week of the event.

Mr. Pioneer Program of Events

Round 1
Introduction of Contestants
Family Feud game between Freshmen & Sophomore Class
Round 2
Hero Segment- Contestants encouraged to dress as their Hero and state why they chose that person
Family Feud game between Junior & Senior Class
Round 3
Interview Question, followed by a brief Intermission
Family Feud Championship
Final Round
Announcement of 1st & 2nd Runner-ups, then crowning of the 2017 Mr. Pioneer.

In addition to judging, friends and family may vote for their favorite contestant. One dollar equals one vote.

All proceeds benefit Spring Blast for 9th & 10th grade students, plus Post Prom for all prom attendees, plus any 11th or 12th grade student. Spring Blast is from 7-9:30 pm, Post Prom is 10 pm-2 am. Both events are held on Saturday, May 13.

Last Year's Mr. Pioneer Contestants

The 2016 Mr. Pioneer contestants (from tehe left): Teddy Mazaheri, Chaz Wolf, second runner-up Ben Rhoades, Kevin Reed, winner Chase Pirozzi, Andrew Hay, first runner-up George Grau, Sam Welk, Tyler Thomas, and Justin Burkett.

Last year's Chase Pirozzi was crowned Mr. Pioneer last night in the contest sponsored by the high school PTO. Pirozzi, who represented student council, took the prize while George Grau, who represented outdoor club, and Ben Rhoades, who represented Pioneer Interact, took first and second runner-up respectively.

--By Jillian Pontz, LS News reporter

Popular posts from this blog

Advice: How to get straight As

Rumble Fish Book Review

Book Review: Read the story of 14-year-old 'Tex' an aimless, trouble-prone youth