Golf: Pioneers Claims L-L Team Championship

On Monday, September 27, the Lampeter-Strasburg Boys Golf team claimed the L-L Team Championship. It was a warm, fall day outside with clear skies. There was also a subtle breeze throughout the day.

The L-L tournament was held at Honey brook Golf Club in Honey Brook, Pennsylvania. The L-S team consists of Matt Wilson, Ben Wilson, Gehrig Harsh, Morgan Smith, Isaiah Parido, Drew Wilson, Stewart Mcclain, and Jason Long.

The Pioneers ended Manheim Township’s 11-year streak with a difference of one stroke, 308 to 309. The unstoppable Pioneer golf team also claimed the section title.

This group consists of L-S, Octorara, Cocalico, ELCO, and Northern Lebanon. Matt Wilson finished with the best score on the team and is also ranked 2nd in the L-L League. He is one of the best of the best, considering the L-L league consists of 26 different schools all over the county.

The tournament began for Lampeter-Strasburg as an undefeated team so far this season. The Pioneers had four rounds in the 70s at the tournament. The team is now qualified to compete on October 8. They are competing at the PIAA District 3 team golf championships at Honey Run Golf Course in York County.

It will be the team score from Friday only, while to qualify for the next round of individual golfer, they will be competing in a 2-day event (October 8th and 9th).)
-By Hannah Killian, LS News reporter

Popular posts from this blog

Advice: How to get straight As

Rumble Fish Book Review

Book Review: Read the story of 14-year-old 'Tex' an aimless, trouble-prone youth