Cross Country District Meet: Boys' Finish 2nd, Whitaker Qualifies For State Meet

On Saturday, the boys' and girls' cross country teams competed in the 2-A District III meet at Big Spring HS. Both teams had good performances and had individual runners earn medals. 

The girls' team finished 3rd out of 7 teams competing. Aubrey Magagna and Jaclyn Martin finished in the top 20 individually, earning medals. Boiling Springs' Peyton Ellis won the individual title with a time of 19:17 and Berks Catholic won the team title with 49 points. Wyomissing and Lampeter-Strasburg were the two closest finishers with scores of 51 and 98 respectively. 

Aubrey Magagna, Emma Drouillard, Molly Wissler, Selah Drouillard, Tori Smith, Megan Stratton, Morgan Wright, and Jaclyn Martin (pictured left to right) (via L-S Cross Country Twitter)

The boys' team finished 2nd out of 9 teams competing. Colin Whitaker (3rd) and Parker Stoner (16th) earned medals as well. Greencastle-Antrim's Weber Long won the race with a time of 15:47, and Kennard-Dale won the team gold with 45 points. Lampeter-Strasburg and Boiling Springs were the closest finishers with 68 and 78 points respectively. 

Ben Devine, Luka Vranich, Parker Stoner, Luke Smith, Colin Whitaker, Nate Eberly, David Pritchard, and Adrian Elia (pictured left to right) (via L-S Cross Country Twitter)


(Boiling Springs) Peyton Ellis 19:17, (Wyomissing) Grace Kuhn 19:30, (Kutztown) Erika Moriarty 19:48, (Oley Valley) Ava Lottig 19:50, (Wyomissing) Addie Cohen 20:07, (Conrad Weiser) Sydney Werner 20:10, (Berks Catholic) Michaela Burkey 20:12, (Kennard-Dale) Angelina Hammond 20:28, (Bishop McDevitt) Anna Burke 20:31, (Conrad Weiser) Erin Horack 20:45

Medal Winners From The Girls' Race (John Walk)


Aubrey Magagna 20:50 (11th), Jaclyn Martin 21:28 (18th), Morgan Wright 22:01 (30th), Molly Wissler 23:19 (59th), Emma Drouillard 24:13 (72nd), Megan Stratton 24:16 (73rd), Tori Smith 24:29 (76th)


(Greencastle-Antrim) Weber Long 15:47, (Kennard-Dale) Garrett Quinan 16:10, (L-S) Colin Whitaker 16:17, (Kennard-Dale) Collin Wolf 16:23, (Boiling Springs) Evan Kase 16:32, Gibran Varahrami 16:35, (Susquehannock) Matthew O'Brien 16:37, (Kennard-Dale) Dylan Cunningham 16:39, (Annville-Cleona) Jack Tshudy 16:40, (Kennard-Dale) Dan Gibney 16:45

Medal Winners From The Boys' Race (John Walk)


Colin Whitaker 16:17 (3rd), Parker Stoner 16:55 (16th), Adrian Elia 17:20 (22nd), Luka Vranich 17:39 (31st), Nate Eberly 17:47 (37th), David Pritchard 18:09 (50th), Luke Smith 18:23 (61st)

While neither team qualified for the PIAA state meet, Colin Whitaker finished within the top 6 and qualified individually. The state meet will take place on Saturday, November 7th in Hershey. Another outstanding season for the cross-country program!

By Logan Moyer, LS News reporter

Popular posts from this blog

Advice: How to get straight As

Rumble Fish Book Review

Book Review: Read the story of 14-year-old 'Tex' an aimless, trouble-prone youth