Some heroes don't wear capes. 2015-2016 L-S Heroes announced

Last week the 2015-2016 Lampeter-Strasburg Heroes were announced. Heroes represent an elite group of seniors, nominated by faculty, that travels to third grade classrooms in the district in order to serve as mentors. They teach lessons on making positive decisions that lead to future successes in life.
2015-2016 L-S Heroes.
Students selection in the program is based leadership skills, academic success, school and/or community involvement as well as freedom from drug and alcohol use. Students were further screened for attendance and discipline.

As a L-S Hero, students gain public recognition, public speaking skills, reinforcement for maintaining a drug and alcohol-free lifestyle, as well as the respect and admiration of younger students.

All heroes receive printed "trading cards" picturing the student hero, along with a short biographic feature that can be distributed to elementary students as Heroes share their positive messages.

Students selected to participate include: Elke Arnesen, Connor Brown, Isaiah Carr, Cole Crumpler, Emily Deardorff, Beth DiBiase, Megan Doolittle, Allyson Dull, Ben Eidemiller, Cristina Estevez, Robin Feaster, Brianna Garber, Caleb Gawne, Katelyn Gebhart, Alec Gordley, Chelsea Hancock, Matt Harnish, Andrew Hay, Hannah Hess, Sarah Hess, Cassidy Ingram, Samantha Ingram, Jake Kelly, Joanna King, Madison Lawhead, Adam Lichty, Jarrod Lloyd, Megan Lundy, Mackenzie Miller, Zachary Mummau, Tyson Owens, Lauren Petersheim, Marco Peticca, Chase Pirozzi, Ben Pontz, Lauren Prange, Kevin Reed, Jessica Reynolds, Ben Rhoades, Rachel Shortes, Taylor Skrodinsky, Tyler Thomas, Alyssa VanLenten, Sam Welk, and Chaz Wolf. Mrs. Susan Rettew oversees the Heroes program.

Popular posts from this blog

Rumble Fish Book Review

Book Review: Read the story of 14-year-old 'Tex' an aimless, trouble-prone youth

Teacher Spotlight: The Remarkable Mrs. Ingram